About Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913, by 22 collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. Since its founding, Delta Sigma Theta has been at the forefront of creating programming to improve political, education, and social and economic conditions. From those 22, the organization has initiated more than 300,000 women.

The Pittsburgh Alumnae Chapter has met the challenge of changing patterns through the years and has made advances toward establishing a sound operational basis which has been necessitated by its expanding numbers and programs. The members of Pittsburgh Alumnae Chapter will continue to serve their community by fostering and executing the ideals, goals, and programs of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Alt Text


Recognizing the need in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania for a member of Delta Sigma Theta to maintain a closer affiliation with her peers in interests and achievements, Alpha Epsilon Chapter was chartered on April 3, 1927 through the efforts of:


Lillian W. Brown
Irene Morris Johnson
Janie E. Everett
Edwinna W. Primas
Alta Gibbs
Helen Haynes Smith

In January of 1971, the graduate and undergraduate members of Alpha Epsilon reorganized and chartered Pittsburgh Alumnae and Theta Beta, the city-wide undergraduate chapter. Pittsburgh Alumnae Chapter was chartered with over 100 Alpha Epsilon Sorors.


The Pittsburgh Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is lead by six dynamic women that each serve above and beyond the call of duty.

Helen Bowers


As Chapter President, Helen Bowers, leads our chapter by providing the overall vision for our service and sisterhood.

Phyllis Roberts

Vice President

As Vice President, Phyllis Roberts, serves in the absence of the President and oversees Membership Services for the Chapter.

Jovita Smith

Recording Secretary

As Recording Secretary, Jovita Smith, maintains the records and minutes for the Chapter.

Mia Jennings

Corresponding Secretary

Our Corresponding Secretary, Mia Jennings, keeps the Chapter up-to-date by corresponding with chapter members and the community we serve through various means.

Monique Walker


Treasurer, Monique Walker, is responsible for ensuring that the Chapter meets all financial goals each fiscal year.

Carolyn Davis

Financial Secretary

Financial Secretary, Carolyn Davis, maintains records of funds collected.